This website your browser does not support. Please upgrade your browser Or Use google Crome
Latest Announcments
Other Links
Bioenergy Committees and Task Forces
With the ambitious targets set for the end-of-mission achievement by 2020, it is obvious that a series of committees and task forces would be needed to ensure smooth flow of each and every activity and programme and enable the apex decision makers to evaluate progress and make necessary changes.
Monitoring of programmes
Various Committees Constituted by the division so far are as follows:
A. Task Force Committee on Energy Biosciences
B. Project Monitoring Committee Algal Biofuels
C. Project Monitoring Committee Jatropha Network Programme
D. Oversight Committee on Bioenergy Centre
E. Inter-Agency Committee for R&D Biofuel
Projects are being monitored through a well-established review process by relevant expertise. Scientific and technical progress reports get evaluated through respective Project Monitoring Committee and Task Force and special Expert Committees.
DBT has constituted a special Oversight committee to review the activities of the Energy Biosciences Centre established by DBT and also to ensure the synergy and coordination among these 3 Centres. Regular interactions done with the investigators for follow up actions taken for proper implementation of the project.
Special Project Monitoring processes adopted for the Algae and Jatropha network projects through Project Monitoring Committees and also by conducting site visits to the underperforming Centre as and when required. The department follows a framework that integrates scientific method and administrative procedure.
Task Force of Energy Biosciences
1. Dr. B.D. Kulkarni, CSIR Distinguished Scientist (Engg. Sciences), C/o National Chemical Laboratory,
2. Dr.K.Gurumurthy, Former Director, IFGTB Coimbatore
3. Dr.Arvind M. Lali, Professor, Chemical Engineering Division, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
4. Dr. K. J. Mukherjee, Professor, School of Biotechnology, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
5. Dr. Ganesh Pandey, Scientist, CDRI Lucknow
6. Dr.Aditi Pant, Retd. Scientist, NCL Pune
7. Dr. T. Satyanarayana, Professor, Department of Microbiology, University of Delhi South Campus, New Delhi- 110 021,
8. Dr. D.K., Tuli, General Manager (Alternate Energy) R&D Center, IOCL Faridabad
9. Dr.Vanga Siva Reddy, Head Plant Transformation, ICGEB Laboratories Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi-110 067
10. Dr.PurnanandaGuptasarma, Professor ( Biology), IISER Mohali
11. Dr. R. Rengasamy , Professor and Director, Department of Botany , University of Madras
12. Dr. G. Subramanian, Former Director, National Facility of Marine Cyanobacteria, Bharatidasan Univ. Tiruchirapalli- 620 018,
Members (Ex Officio)
13. Shri. A.K. Dhussa, Director, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Block-14, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110 003,
14. Dr. G.J. Samathanam, Advisor & Head, Technology Development and Transfer, Department of Science and Technology, Ministry of Science and Technology, New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi
15. Dr.Renu Swaup, Advisor, DBT, New Delhi
Member Secretary
16. Dr.Sangita Kasture, Scientist ‘D’, DBT, New Delhi
Project Monitoring Committee- Algal Biofuels
1. Dr. G. Subramanian, Former Director, National Facility of Marine Cyanobacteria, Bharatidasan Univ. Tiruchirapalli.
2. Dr.Arvind M. Lali, Professor, ICT Mumbai
3. Dr.Aditi Pant, Retd Scientist NCL Pune
4. Dr. D.K., Tuli, General Manager (Alternate Energy) R&D Center, IOCL Faridabad,
5. Dr.Vanga Siva Reddy, Head Plant Transformation ICGEB New Delhi
6. Dr. C. R. K. Reddy, Professor, CSMCRI Bhavngar Gujarat
Project Monitoring Committee – Jatropha Network Programme
1. Dr. K. Gurumurthi, Former Director, IFGTB Coimbatore
2. Dr. D. K. Tuli, GM(AE), IOC Faridabad
3. Dr. R. S. Fougat, Professor, Agriculture Biotechnology University, Anand, Gujarat
4. Dr. S. K. Dhyani, Director, National Research Centre for Agroforestry, Jhansi
5. Dr. V. K. Gour, Department of Plant Breeding and Genetics, J.N. Agricultural University, Krishinagar, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
6. Dr. M. Sujatha, Head & Principal Scientist (Gen. & Cytogen.) Director of Oil Seeds Research, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad
Oversight Committee
1. Prof. Anand Chakraborty, Distinguished Professor, Illunnis University, USA
2. Dr. K. Gurumurthi, Former Director IFGTB, Coimbatore
3. Dr. K. T. Shanmugum, University of Florida, Gainseville, USA
4. Dr. A. K. Panda, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi
5. Dr.Bhavik Bakshi, VC, TERI, New Delhi (recently moved to overseas)
6. Dr.Anjan Ray, Regional Commercial, Director UOP
7. Dr.Pawan Dhar, Director, CSSB, Thirunanathapuram, Kerala
8. Dr.Shrikumar Suryanarayan, CEO Sea6 Energy, Chennai
9. Prof. K. B. Ramachandran, Emeritus Professor, IIT Madras Chennai
10. Prof. Jayant Modak, IISc, Bangalore
Inter Agency Committee for R&D Biofuel
1. Secretary, Department of Biotechnology
2. Dr. M. Parmathama, Executive Director, NOVOD Board, Ministry of Agriculture, New Delhi
3. Dr. A.K. Dhussa, Director, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Block-14, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi
4. Dr. R. K. Malhotra, Director, R&D Center, IOCL, Faridabad
5. Dr. R.M. Misra, DIG Admn & Biofuel, Ministry of Rural Development, New Delhi
6. Dr.Zakwan Ahmed, Director, Defence, Institute of Bioenergy Research, Ministry of Defence DRDO, Nainital.
7. Dr. Sanjay Bajpai/Dr. Sanjay Singh/ Dr. P.R. Basak, Director, Technology Mission Cell, New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi
8. Dr.Sudeep Kumar, Head, Planning & Performance Division, Technology Networking & Business Development Division (TNBO), Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Anusandhan Bhavan, 2, Rafi Marg, New Delhi-110001
9. Dr. A.M. Singh, DIG, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110 003, email:-cdsingh1987[at]rediffmail[dot]com
10. Dr. H. M. Behl, coordinator of Jatropha Network, Biotech Park, Sector – G, Jankipuram, Kursi Road, Lucknow – 226 021